How to transfer movie files into standalone XR headset?

FrankElite

Hi everyone,

Firstly apologies as I have zero tech/vr experience and maybe asking basic question..... I would like to know if its possible to do a file transfer from laptop to XR Viveport or any other application to have local content so I can watch my video files as a standalone without need to stream or connect to laptop? 

On 4/12/2023 at 10:32 PM, FrankElite said:

Hi everyone,

Firstly apologies as I have zero tech/vr experience and maybe asking basic question..... I would like to know if its possible to do a file transfer from laptop to XR Viveport or any other application to have local content so I can watch my video files as a standalone without need to stream or connect to laptop? 

Of course you can, please check the article here

• 4 weeks later...
On 4/13/2023 at 11:19 AM, C.T. said:

Of course you can, please check the article here

This is the opposite of what they are trying to accomplish. They want to transfer files to the headset to watch the movies standalone without a PC.

Unfortunately, I do not think there are native standalone video players available for the headset yet. You can side load and install 2D video players such as VLC onto the headset, but the way 2D Android applications work on the Vive XR is certainly not optimal. 

The headset really needs improvements in running standalone Android applications. Something similar to virtual desktop except using local Android applications and video files is really needed.

10 hours ago, SuperGrover said:

這與他們試圖實現的目標背道而馳。他們想將文件傳輸到耳機,以便在沒有 PC 的情況下獨立觀看電影。

不幸的是,我認為目前還沒有適用於耳機的原生獨立視頻播放器。您可以在耳機上加載和安裝 VLC 等 2D 視頻播放器,但 2D Android 應用程序在 Vive XR 上的工作方式肯定不是最佳的。 

耳機在運行獨立的 Android 應用程序方面確實需要改進。確實需要類似於虛擬桌面的東西,除了使用本地 Android 應用程序和視頻文件。

Skybox may be the most ideal player, but unfortunately there is no