Create my own pass through video stream

Lukk

Hello
I want to create a high quality dual camera setup which then I want to stream to VR gogles, something like the pass-through in Vive Pro but in remote location (cable connected) with higher quality and decent-low latency. In the beggining I don't want to interfere with the video stream in any way, just direct streaming.
What tool can I use to create such an app or something? I'm a programmer, but I never did anything related to VR.

Thanks!

@LukkDepends on if you're using a prebuilt camera like the Zed camera or rolling your own solution. The Zed/Zed Mini camera is the best supported of aftermarket MR pass-through cams. If you're using a productized solution like a Zed camera - it will have an SDK and that SDK will determine your limitations if you can't get direct hardware access. I'd imagine that you can get a networked multiplayer session between the two sessions in a game engine or figure out how to network with the camera more directly.

If you're rolling your own camera solution - each video stream can just be networked in whichever way you find finds produces the least latency and then you can render each feed to each eye accordingly.

Thanks @VibrantNebula for answer.

I'd rather use my own solution, mostly because of scalability. I'm thinking about some kind of network stream and I may not be clear with my question - I want to know what tools I could use on the VR googles part of the system, does i.g. SRWorks SDK have the ability to pass a video stream directly to Vive screen? I don't want to render a screen or anyting in VR, just directly pass two ~180 degree videos.

@Lukk - SRWorks SDK is specifically for the built in cameras - it cannot be used for custom solutions. We don't have any SDK that would enable you to do this - you'd need to configure a custom solution within a game engine.