Which Accessories are Best for my HTC VIVE?

I recently, (as a gift to myself) got the HTC Vive VR Headset. It's already tons of fun, and I love it. But thats besides the point. I know that there are a few key things missing that would improve the user experience, however I am still a noob on this topic. Does anybody have a list of the best accessories for the HTC Vive? That would be awesome. Thanks for your support!

Good question: I have had my HTC Vive for a while now, and I have my whole setup complete. (keep in mind that all of these accessories are not required, so don't feel obliged to buy them just to play in VR. Anyway, here are a couple of the things that I would recommend:

Deluxe Vive Audio Strap

Image of Deluxe Vive Audio Strap, part of recommended HTC Vive VR eqiupment.

This add-on allows you to hear VR audio and also have a nice, snug fit for your headset. It’s definitely worth it.

Alienware M15 Gaming Laptop

Image of the recommended laptop for HTC Vive virtual reality system. This machine meets or exceeds these requirements with a 15.6" LCD, 16GB RAM, 512 GB PCIe M.2 SSD storage, NVIDIA GEForce RTX 2060 graphics card with 6GB.

Not just any Windows PC will run your VR system well. You’ll need the power of a gaming machine. This Dell Alienware gaming laptop is the right mix of cost (not too expensive) and power (plenty of power to run VR). A powerful computer is crucial for a smooth and high def gaming experience, since the VR headset and software will run from the computer. In my opinion, it’s good to get a notebook instead of a desktop so that your VR setup is portable. However, a notebook is not easy to upgrade, so you might need to upgrade your notebook after a few years.

If you prefer another brand of computer, here are the minimum specs I recommend to give you a bit of future proofing, and also will be able to support your own VR creations, if you decide to start building your own VR scenes:

• Graphics: NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1080 or better