I need a Computer

gfogelgolf

Ok I am an elementary school teacher and was fortunate to get a Vive donated to our class. The problem is I don't have a computer that (or I even know will support it)... So basically I'm sitting on a top of the line machine (we have an Oculus Go that we use) but don't have anything to run it. 

My problem is that I am going to be using my own money to by the computer and would LOVE to keep the costs down.... LIKE REALLY DOWN!

I don't know where to start, partly because I don't know much about computers... Can anyone point me to the right direction...

I was looking at the Lenovo Y53O but with an Intel Core i7 Processor 8750h.... (buddy told me to get that...)

First of all, I would not recommend buying a laptop to play VR. PC and laptop specs (even though might be the same on paper) have no comparison in performance. Moreover, for a really pricy laptop you can buy 2x better performance PC.

Build it on MicroATX motherboard and can be also quite small (to travel). But if for some reason you are forced to get a laptop, the one you chosen has 1050Ti GPU which does not reach the minimum specs provided by Vive:

Minimum Computer Specs
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4590 or AMD FX™ 8350, equivalent or better.
Graphics: NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 970 or AMD Radeon ™ R9 290, equivalent or better. View the complete list >
Memory: 4 GB RAM or more
Video out: DisplayPort 1.2 or newer
USB ports: 1x USB 3.0 or newer port
Operating system: Windows® 7, Windows® 8.1 or later, Windows® 10
Upgrade to Windows® 10 for the best results with the dual front facing cameras
*Driver is required to download and install before using VIVE Pro under Windows® 7.
Recommended graphics for the best experience is NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1070/Quadro P5000 or above, or AMD Radeon™ Vega 56 or above.

G3D Mark:
GeForce GTX 970 : 8,607
Radeon R9 290 / 390 : 7,129
and way down (probably even less points in laptop):
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti : 5,966