VIVE Hardware Compatibility

Oracle

Hi,

A little bit about myself, I am an architectural 3D artist (with zero VR knowledge) who wants to explore the possibility of using VR for design visualization.

At the moment I really feels like getting myself HTC VIVE Virtual Reality Kit, but Vive Quick Compatibility Check said that my graphics card may not work well with Vive.

I understand that the recommended graphics will gives better experience, but as I am only using it for R&D and workflow testing purpose at the moment (not for playing games), I dont really wish to upgrade my graphics card or my PC for now. I rather spend the cash on the VR kit instead. :)

Now the things that I want to know is : With that graphics card issue, do you think I still can setup Vive and have it running on my PC? Or it will not run at all? 

My PC Setup, for info : Intel Core i7 CPU X990 3.47GHz, 12 GB RAM, nVidia Quadro 600, Windows 10

Please advise.

Thank you so much.

Hello.

I am unfamiliar with your graphic card.

What you have to keep in mind is in VR, everything has to be rendered in real time in 3D space, this requires a decently beefy video card to handle all that work. Doesn't matter if it's a game or architecture everything must be rendered in 3D space and best if it's running at 90 Hz refresh rate to prevent ghosting and a lesser motion sickness effect. This is the reason VR requires a higher end video card..... normally, minimums are a GTX 970...... personally I have a GTX 980 with a i7 4790k (4.0 Ghz) and 24 gigs of ram and everything I've tried so far seems to run smoothly with it.

I've had my Vive for 3 weeks now and am still quite happy with it. :)

Regards: Jack