Suggested hardware setup for team

Hello,

I am new to VR space and require some clarifications regarding the hardware setup for the team.

As of now, my development PC is Windows 10 with Intel Core i7u processor. And, most of my team members are having the same spec laptop.

Now, we are planning to purchase few Vive Ready laptops for development and testing. The Vive Ready laptops are very costly so purchasing for all the team members will be an expensive approach. To best of my understanding, most of the development will be done on emulator and real testing will be done on device. I am planning to buy 2 Vive Ready laptops (to do real testing) and use the current spec laptop for development using emulator.

I would like to know what is the suggested approach here and what are the few best approaches others are following in their VR development.

Thanks in advance.

, generally speaking, the complexity of your project will determine if it's practical to run the editor on lower end graphics. As a rule of thumb, if using the editor you generally want a dedicated GPU in your system if you're developing a 3D game but you can get away with onboard graphics if developing a simple 2D game (like a sidescroller). I'm not sure which emulation system you'll be employing (just a "null" hmd?) but running a project in the editor will almost always consume more resources than running the compiled binary so in general your workstations actually need to exceed your target minimum requirement due to editor overhead. Intel Graphics really isn't designed for development.