Will an external GPU work with vive?

So I'm looking to buy an HTC Vive soon and just tested my computer on Vive. Its specs are generally good except for the graphics card, which is a nvidia gtx 1050. I'm using a gaming laptop (default laptop of this no upgrades) and am wondering if I should get an external GPU with a 1070ti for a good experience. Does anybody know if this will work? This is my first time using VR and I can't find anything anywhere else. Thanks.

I'm sure there have been users who have tried that before, but it's not recommended. In your case, it's going to tax your CPU significantly and I'd guess that you'll only get choppy performance at best. External GPUs aren't really for gaming anyways, the value there is in rendering and other such time-intensive operations where latency isn't such an issue.

Unfortunately, your base laptop doesn't meet the minimum specs either, so I'd suggest if you want to do VR on a laptop, you may want to update your gaming PC as well. See here for minimum requirements: https://www.vive.com/us/ready/

Thank you!

-John C

I am curious about your reply to .  In my own research I have read of quite a few people having great results with an eGPU and the Vive or Rift.

Reading through some published benchmarks, like this one: https://egpu.io/forums/mac-setup/pcie-slot-dgpu-vs-thunderbolt-3-egpu-internal-display-test/ it seems like, while you do take a performance hit, a decent eGPU on Thunderbolt 3, can more than power VR.  Am I missing something?

Thanks for your post. I checked out that link and it doesn't really talk about VR, but they do bring up a good point. You are going to get performance drops on external GPU setups, period. It's unavoidable. 

That's not to say that there aren't users that are willing to factor that overhead in and are still able to do it, it's still not recommended. For 's case, his/her PC isn't really ready for VR as is, so an eGPU approach likely won't work for him regardless.