Vive University Representative?

Elrondel

Hi all,

I spoke with a HR person that suggested that I post here about my idea, and I was wondering if anybody else had heard of it.

I'm a university student right now who has been following VR heavily for the past year. Every bit of money I've earned, I put toward building my PC for VR. I finished that over the summer and now I'm saving for my Vive.

I'm interested in being a university representative for the Vive at my uni, proving that dorm-scale VR is viable and works well. I will eventually purchase a Vive once I save enough money but I'd love to expedite this and begin demo'ing to people, especially with the release of Google Earth VR. Has anyone heard of HTC giving a discount/promotion to people that do this kind of thing? Else I might look into crowdfunding, though I realize that most people online will not think much of a cause like mine. One can hope, though.

Please let me know if you've heard of anything like this!

Hi . Interesting idea and thanks for your post, and your interest in Vive!

We don't currently offer this kind of program. I'm sure you can understand it'll be difficult to moderate to ensure it wasn't just... well, a 'Get a free Vive' program. :) However, I'll pass on the suggestion. An educational / student discount seems like a good idea to begin with, don't you think?

If we can't help out in this way, perhaps we can look at something else. It'd be interesting to have some sort of 'Vive demo person locator' similar to the store locator we have. Thanks for the suggestion.

Good luck in your studies, and hope to see more of you around here!

Hi ,